First post – I’m not a meanie! I’m not!

I don’t know where this is going but I feel the need to write one of these things called a blog along with the other million or so of you out there.  What’s the theme?  Well, I’m going to start off with my views on everyday life and express my opinion as a middle-aged (ouch) Ex-Valley Girl/ current middle school teacher/ parent of teenagers.  Doesn’t sound too specific yet, huh?  Hmmm, I’m working on it.

I do know why I choose the title of this blog and it comes from the nickname that my husband gave me after seeing this picture of me from kindergarten.  The look says it all.  My attitude then is still my attitude now but I have learned to temper some of my opinions somewhat.  The problem with this nickname is people think I am MEAN, but I’m not.  I have a very strong viewpoint of what is right and wrong and I tend to tell others those strong viewpoints.  I’m not afraid to argue my point and I’m not really concerned with being popular (never really was).

So I guess for the first post I’m sounding a little confrontational, or demanding, or bossy, but darn it I don’t think that’s mean!  I like to think of myself as strong and independent, but we all know that we can’t really be like that all the time.  We need help sometimes.  I ask for help a lot and I’d like to think I have helped others too.  So if you are still reading this, welcome to the ride, I hope you find some useful information here and there for you to be true to yourself.

My question to you is this:  Have you ever been given a negative character quality nickname (like Meanie) and get offended or not know why it was given to you?  Or did you understand where the nickname came from and laughed about it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

