30 Day Challenge

I went to yoga yesterday after not going for the past few weeks.  It’s funny how I’m always dragging my feet to that class but am so refreshed and renewed afterwards.  My yoga teacher is awesome and I hope she never quits.  Anyways, one of the benefits of my yoga class is meeting up with my best friend who I’ve known since high school and is the only person from my high school that I regularly talk with.  Since he has started seriously dating this girl and since my boys have become more involved in middle school/high school functions, this is pretty much the only time we see each other.  I guess I am lucky to even have a great best friend, supportive husband, and kids who basically rock.

The point I am trying to get to is that I was talking to my friend about my secret goal of quitting my job.  I love being a teacher, but the politics and BS of my school district this last year has taken a strong toll on my psyche.  I got really burned out by June.  I know the kids need good teachers, and I still think I am one of them, but as some people say “The system is really bringing me down.”  I don’t know if I have the gumption for this job anymore and I know that the district would be very happy hiring a new, i.e. cheaper teacher, to fill up my spot.  Teachers are widgets right now according to an article I read in March from TweenTeacher.  So the plan is to maybe find something new to fulfill my life and have meaning and heck, maybe even make money off of.  Would a blog accomplish this?

I don’t know.  I’ve been reading a lot of other, more talented, more interesting blogs, and I can honestly say. I.am.not.there…yet.  Will I ever be?  Who knows.  But what I am going to do is write on this blog for the next 30 days.  From July 14 to August 14.  Wow.  That’s a lot.  This idea came from another educational blog I follow called Free Technology for Teachers.  On this post, the awesome Richard Byrne talks about tips for beginning bloggers.  Then there is a TED video at the end of his post from Matt Cutts about trying something new for 30 days.  So, yeah, I have the time this summer.  I can do it.  It may not be pretty but I will get it done.

So, if you have read to the end of this post, my challenge to you is to think of something you can try for 30 days.  Let me know how it turns out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

