Procrastination

Okay, so the 30 day blog challenge of writing everyday didn’t even last, um, one day?  But really, I’m not surprised.  12 posts out of 30 is technically less than half and would be an F in my class but what I’m learning is it’s more about quality vs. quantity, right?  With that being said I am very good at PROCRASTINATION.  A few months back I discovered this cute little video titled Procrastination.  It’s lovely.  It defined what avoiding doing something is all about.  We all put so many things off for so many different reasons.  Here are a few off the top of my head:

1.  You don’t really want to do the activity  even though it MUST get done,  like laundry, or house cleaning or grading papers.

2. You think you have time to do it later.  This is not a good idea for me, because I put it in the back of my mind and then it is forgotten.  I have been thinking that school is in September and I can start planning for next year because I got PLENTY o’ time!  Now it’s the middle of August and I need to start getting my booty in gear.

3. You want to do the activity, but you want it done really well, so you put it off to plan and think better ways to get it done before you actually start.  Planning my son’s birthday parties (yes even at 13 and 15 still) are a big deal for me.  They never are perfect, but we always manage to have fun anyway.

Well I did start planning for the next school year already even though the students do not return until September.  I have so many, many things I want to get done before September and I am feeling overwhelmed!  Most teacher blogs (this is not one of those) around this time of year write about tips to survive the new school year and how to get back into the groove.  I am getting there.  I am meeting with fellow teachers.  I am sort of planning lessons.  But I still have about 10 boxes of stuff to unpack because I will be starting at a new school. Exciting?  Yes.  But I am procrastinating.  What is great about me being a teacher as opposed to another type of job is there are many deadlines in school; when books need to be issued, when grades are due, when the school year end and yes, when it will actually begin.  I know it is coming.  I will get it done somehow.  I just need to stop procrastinating.

One of my sons’ most favorite children’s book was Days with Frog and Toad and the story Tomorrow.  It is a story about Toad trying to put off all the work that needs to be done that day, but Frog gets him motivated to get up and get going.

Toad woke up. “Drat!” he said. “This house is a mess. I have so much work to do.” Frog looked through the window. “Toad, you are right,” said Frog. “It is a mess.” Toad pulled the covers over his head. “I will do it tomorrow,” said Toad. “Today I will take life easy.”

Frog came into the house. “Your windows need scrubbing,” said Frog. “Your plants need watering.” “Tomorrow!” cried Toad. “I will do it all tomorrow!” Toad sat on the edge of his bed. “Blah,” said Toad. “I feel down in the dumps.” “Why?” asked Frog. “I am thinking about tomorrow,” said Toad. “I am thinking about all of the many things that I will have to do.” “Yes,” said Frog, “tomorrow will be a very hard day for you.”

We could all use a Frog to help us get going I suppose, but it’s also okay to be a Toad once in a while too.  What makes you procrastinate and what are some things you do to procrastinate?

Enjoy the video!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

