Exercising for my health so I stay strong, stay sane, and eat cupcakes!

I started work early this year and I will be teaching at a brand new school so I have had extra days of meetings and prep time instead of the usual one day before the kids come to the school.  I am loving this time, but also feeling overwhelmed because there are a few new things I will have to do that are very different than at my old school, like teacher MATH.  Ack!  But I think know I have to get it done and I will.

So why am I telling you about my shortened summer vacation?  Because this planning time is interfering with my summer workout schedule.  I know, I know, everyone say a sarcastic “Oh boo hoo!”  I started running in June and was doing 2 miles every 2 or 3 days a week.  Not too bad.  Now I can’t remember my last run.  I believe it was two weeks ago last Friday?  Does that mean I haven’t done any exercise for the past two weeks?  No, I still go to the gym and use the stairclimber and lift a few weights.  I still do yoga once a week and just yesterday I went to my kickboxing class that I haven’t been to in the past two weeeks because of vacation plans.  So you know what happened to me this morning because I have been slacking off?  My heel pain came back.  Yep, good old plantar faciatis (see blog post Being Worth It).  Common causes of this problem are tight calf muscles (check),  high arches (check) and just exercising too hard and getting old (check,check).  The last cause of exercising too much and getting old really sucks for me because what am I suppose to do?  Stop exercising and get fat?  Do you know how many people have told me, “I can’t exercise because I’ve got this health problem or that health problem”  Lame excuses most of them if you ask me.  I won’t stop exercising because I know if you slack off even just a little, you can get into that lax mode and then it becomes harder to stay fit.  I know I am being the Big Green Meanie right now but there are no excuses for being obese, and like you, I have friends who have issues with their weight.  If you can walk, walk.  If you can run, that’s better.  Do things that will make you exercise like put money towards a gym membership or trainer, just no excuses!

I will let you in on a little secret about me.  I hate exercise.  I am not one of those people who says, “Oh, it’s the best feeling in the world!”  Heck no.  The best feeling when I exercise, especially running is when it is finally over.  But I do it.  I yell and scream at myself inside my head “I hate this!” but I get it done.  Why?  Because I know it is very important to being healthy.  It’s like going to the dentist, eating your vegetables, and waiting at the DMV all rolled into one for me.  One of the things I dread each day.  But I know, to be truly fit and healthy, I need to do something everyday.  There are some exercises I tolerate more than others like riding my bike and going to yoga.  But would I prefer to sit on my couch and watch reruns of Sex and the City for 4 hours straight instead?  Absolutely.  But my guilt mental attitude keeps me from feeling too comfortable when I stay still like a slug for too long. I guilt myself into exercise.  It may not be the best motivator for you, but it works for me.  Make exercise fun?  Psht, right, no way!  It sucks, but it’s what we ALL gotta do to be healthy.

So I exercise for health and I exercise for my mental state too.  Now that my schedule is going to change for the school year I still find a way to fit in at LEAST 2 days of a good workout.  Being sweaty and exhausted helps clear up my mental state and helps me deal with stress.  I have a feeling I may need to find more time for workouts and running.  Blech!

And cupcakes?  Well for those of you who may not know, I like baking.  It is a stress reliever that I enjoy, however baking usually requires SUGAR, lots and lots of sugar.  I love my dessert and most of the time I give away my creations to my husband’s work or now, my co-workers at the new school.  But I sample because every good chef knows you must sample to see if your creations turned out ok.  So yeah,  I exercise so I don’t feel bad for eating cupcakes.  A sweet every now and then is good for everyone don’t you think?

homemade vanilla cupcakes with the new school colors

Now if you’ll excuse me I’ve been on this computer long enough. I’m going to go out and run 5miles and do 50 pushups, or wait, did I just see that Cupcake Wars is one?

Tell me what are some healthy things you HAVE to do but don’t like to do?

This is not video of me, but sure, sometimes don’t we all think we are maniacs?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

