Being the Nutty Brunette

When I was a kid, I was the tough gal, taller than everyone else to be messed with, and I didn’t like the attention that came with being tall. I was smart in elementary and then in junior high I was placed in the smarter classes and suddenly I wasn’t even smart, just average. Only one of my friends from elementary was placed in the gifted classes with me and she was short, blonde, and cute, so she made friends while I tried to just blend into the wall.

All my life I’ve noticed the blondes were the cute ones and the brunettes were the tough ones. If you grew up during the time of the TV show Charlie’s Angels then you know.

Even Sabrina is the tallest one.

Even Sabrina is the tallest one.

Sabrina and Kelly were the tough thinking gals while Jill was very good at tossing her hair. How many women and little girls during this time wanted that feathered blonde Farrah Fawcett hairstyle? I use to play Charlie’s Angel’s with my friends growing up and I always was Sabrina.

Then in the late 90’s there was this awesome cartoon called The Powerpuff Girls which consisted of three superhero girls; Blossom, Bubbles, and Buttercup.

Buttercup

Buttercup

According to Wikipedia, Buttercup,” is the tomboy of the Powerpuff Girls… She frowned and pouted when the Professor named her simply because, like her previously named sisters, her name ‘also starts with B’…Buttercup can be the most surly Powerpuff Girl at times, but is practically fearless, loyal, quick-witted, and willing to fight….She is often reckless, but can be fairly witty at times, and she is frequently sarcastic.” So you can see why BGM can relate to this cartoon character. And let’s not forget that she also wears GREEN.

A more recent “tough gal” example is Lady Mary Crawley from Downton Abby. If you haven’t seen the show I hope you can still follow along and appreciate my example. If you have seen it, then you know Mary is the practical, silver-tongued, no-nonsense, eldest daughter of the family. She is seen by most of her family as difficult, especially in relationship with her younger sister Edith. She is married to Matthew who knows she can be difficult but loves her anyway. At the end of this last season there is this scene after Mary has given birth to their son that is so touching and shows how Matthew really loves her.

Matthew – You are going to be such a wonderful mother.

Mary – How do you know?

Mat – Because, because you’re such a wonderful woman.

Mary – I hope I’m allowed to be YOUR Mary Crowley for all eternity. Not Edith’s version, or anyone else’s for that matter.

Mat – You’ll be my Mary always. Because mine is the true Mary. You don’t know how happy you’ve made me.

Mary – You sound rather foreign shouldn’t you be saying things like “You’ll be up and about in no time”?

Mat – I’ll do all that tomorrow. Right now I want to tell you that I’ve fallen more in love with you everyday that passes.

Mary – I’ll remind you of that the next time I scratch the car.

All is good, for now...

All is good, for now…

You see that? Matthew loves Meanie Mary too.

So why the Nutty Brunette? One of the places we go out to eat occasionally is BJ’s restaurant. We don’t like most chain restaurants but the BJ’s we go to has decent food the kids like and of course, there’s beer. One of their beers is called a Nutty Brewnette, which Marathon Man likes to order not only because he likes the taste, but because he likes to make the same joke every time, “Well, I’m married to one, might as well drink one!” Which makes the kids and server semi-laugh. I may be brunette, and nutty, and a toughie, but he likes it.

So Blossom, Sabrina and Mary welcome to the BGM Club. Others may see you as difficult but there are some who will understand your passion. Sometimes I can act a little snobbish, sarcastic, and self-righteous. (Although those can be good qualities if you want to be a teacher, just saying…) I can sometimes not care if someone is on my side at first and then after, I may have offended or hurt someone. MM sees these qualities as passionate. I guess you could say that.

In the end, isn’t being passionate what life’s about?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

